Search Blog Content

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

A Quick Guide to the Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer Certification

By Marie Coles

As competition in the job industry increases, unqualified individuals look towards professional qualifications to widen their prospects. One of the popular training courses in the I.T sector is the Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE).

If you're looking for an I.T qualification, the MCSE qualification could be right for you. If you already have experience of implementing, designing, installing, configuring and troubleshooting network systems in the work place, a MCSE certification could help you compete for that promotion in a very competitive industry. This certificate is widely recognised and valued by employers, as it not only demonstrates your knowledge as a technician but your commitment to the job.

Candidates of the MCSE training program must complete four core exams based on networking systems. The first exam will test your ability to maintain and manage the Microsoft Windows 2003 SQL server. The second exam will test your ability to implement, maintain and manage the server's network infrastructure. Exam three will focus on the planning and maintenance aspect of the network infrastructure, whilst, exam focuses on planning, implementing and maintaining the vital active directory infrastructure.

One exam is required to be taken from the Client Operating System unit. Overall this exam will test you ability to maintain, configure and administrator, either, Microsoft's XP Professional, Vista or Windows 7. This is in fact a vital talent to have in the work place as most businesses, whether big or small, use the older XP Professional, since many computer experts and business still believe it's one of the best systems out there; as well as the more modern systems, including Vista and Windows 7. This module will not only teach how to upgrade personal computers, but how to maintain hardware and software on the Windows system.

The next unit you must choose a module from is MCSE design. In this exam your design skills for the SQL server are tested. You can choose to design a Windows server active directory and network infrastructure, or security for the network and a Microsoft exchange server organisation.

The last unit is an elective unit. You can, for instance, take an exam either from the above disciplines (which you have not taken yet) or from a different specialisation. This elective unit enables you to specialise within a certain area, increasing your employability in the I.T specialist sector, as well as broadening your knowledge.

Ready to start your MCSE training? Have a look at for training opportunities.

Article Source:

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for giving such a specification about course.It help me to remove my confusion about this course.
    -Computer Training In Nashville